Posted in Share Joy Challenges

Share joy challenge #35

My very first blog post is dedicated to the card I made for the share joy challenge! http://sharejoychallenge.blogspot.com/ I loved the idea of this challenge and I immediately thought of my older sister who was just in a car wreck. Luckily she is just fine but with the stresses of that, she definitely need some joy! I chose the tic-tac-toe option of leaves, yellow and scallops!

image

Now, I’ll be completely honest here. This was my second attempt at the challenge. My first card did NOT go the way I wanted it to. It was laced with mistakes and problems and the thought of scrapping my nearly 2 hours of work to start all over made me want to scream. The final card came together quickly and exactly how I imagined it, which was a big relief! Now let’s go over the process of making the card (list of products used will be listed at the end of the post)

First thing I did, other than make the 4.25×5.5 inch white card base, was the leaves at the top. I used my Martha Stewart leaf bud punch to create a row that I planned to go along the top edge. I cut the strips out and adhered them to a 3.75×5.5 inch green panel which was placed on the card base. I made sure not to adhere the actual leaves, I wanted them to stand out from the card

image

Next was the Scallops! This took a LOT of thought but I finally cut out a pattern on some yellow cardstock. I wanted to add something to the scallops, so I decided on some polka dots. Only problem is, I don’t have a small circle stamp. So, it was time to be creative! I immediately grabbed my mechanical pencil and used the eraser for the dots.

image

(The small wooden T embellishment was used to create the scallops for neater looking circles)

Once the scallops were done, I adhered it to a .58×5.5 inch White panel. I stamped the sentiment and honestly the card was done…but it was missing something. I decided to take another martha stewart punch and used the negative pieces as a sort of confetti. I used yellow cardstock again to add more yellow that I thought was just missing from the card
image

And that’s the finished product! It was a bit stressful at first, but it truly was very fun! Loving the overall look and I’m looking forward to sending it to one of my sisters to brighten their day!

Products used:

  • Core’dination smooth cardstock 8.5×11 in white, yellow and light green
  • Martha Stewart leaf bud frame border punch cartridge
  • Martha Stewart eyelet doily punch cartridge (for the confetti)
  • Jillibean Soup- Chilled cucumber soup stamp set
  • Memento dew drop ink in Cantaloupe
  • Tim Holtz distress marker in Ripe Persimmon (to define the words in the sentiment)
Leave a Reply

