Posted in Cards, Graduation

Graduation cards: 3 ways

image

I was recently (as in 2 days ago) hit with the task of making three graduation cards for some family members! I didn’t have much time to think of designs, so I figured I would sit at my desk and just create 3 different cards! I’m very happy with how they turned out and im excited to share my thought process while making them! All materials from each card will be listed at the end of the post!



image

This was the first card i sat down and made! It was originally going to be a one layered card, but I did have some mishaps. I stamped the sentiments with the idea that the balloons would be holding them up. The “hip hip hooray” was stamped on an angle for a bit of a twist, like one of the balloons broke and left it falling. I used a cranberry pigment ink to stamp the star balloons, and this is where the mishap happened. I got just a bit of ink on the far left that couldn’t be covered. I continued on to clear emboss the balloons and stamp the “2016” into the two balloons. By then i thought to just cut the card and trim the front panel and adhere it to a dark red cardstock. I took the other half of the white cardstock and adhered it inside to make it a bit easier to read whatever is written inside. I WAS going to be done but i felt there was too much empty space left. Some small stars in the same red ink (but not heat embossed) finished up the card!
image

On to my second card! I really only knew I wanted to use the arrow stamp since I havent used it to make a card yet. I used 2 different blue inks for the arrows, a dark blue and a lighter but brighter blue. I “cha-cha’d” them together if you will, moving them back and forth to blend out in the middle. I stamped the “Congratulations” in the light blue and the “2016” in the darker blue. It was then that I knew it needed something else. I looked through my stash and found this blue chevron patterned paper. I adhered about an inch to the top and also put an inch and a half or so to the bottom of the inside.
image

The last card! Now this next part is hard to explain, but luckily I did think to take a picture! I blocked off a diagonal section on either side to stamp the small butterfly in purple ink. Here’s my tape all lined out!
image

Now, I stamped the full image twice, but wanted a bit of a faded color on the ends. I either barely touched the stamp to the pad or stamped again with the leftover ink after i stamped the image fully. I stamped the sentiment, but didn’t have stamps to spell out “Class of” so I hand wrote it. Now, I know it’s not the best, it’s a work in progress for me, but honestly it looks pretty good on the card (thankfully!!) I stamped the big “2016” in the same purple ink and thought i was finished. Compared to the other two cards, the inside just looked so blah. Back to my scrap hoard i went, and came out with the patterned paper you see. While not exactly matching the card, I still like it inside. I just cut a strip and adhered it to the top inside panel. And with that, I was finally finished!

I hope you all enjoyed the three cards I made! Until next week,

Em

PRODUCTS USED:

Card 1-

  • Core’dinations smooth card stock 8.5×11 in white and dark red
  • Avery Elle- Ellie Elephant stamp set
  • Fiskars- Clear stamp-Hello Fabulous stamp set
  • 7 gypsies clear acrylic stamps- Numero
  • Ad-tech crafter’s tape, Permanent
  • Memento dewdrop ink in Tuxedo Black
  • Ranger- Adirondak earthtones pigment ink in Cranberry
  • Zing embossing powder- Clear

Card 2-

  • Core’dinations smooth cardstock 8.5×11 in white
  • Stampabilities clear stamps- Card phrases
  • Jillibean soup- Chilled cucumber stamp set
  • 7 gypsies clear acrylic stamps- Numero
  • Memento dewdrop inks- Danube blue and Bahama blue
  • DCWV 12×12 DIY project stack- Envelopes
  • Ad-tech crafter’s tape, Permanent

Card 3-

  • Core’dinations smooth cardstock 8.5×11 in white
  • Jillibean soup- chilled cucumber soup stamp set
  • 7 gypsies clear acrylic stamps- Numero
  • Fiskars clear stamps- All year greetings
  • Memento dewdrop ink- Grape jelly
  • Ranger Archival ink- Jet black
  • Staedtler triplus roller pen- Black
  • DCWV 12×12 DIY project stack- Envelopes
  • Ad-tech crafter’s tape- permanent
Leave a Reply

