Posted in Cards

Distressed vintage father’s day card

Hello everyone! This week’s post is all about good ole dad! I recently made my dad a father’s day card. I saw a video recently by Lindsay Weirich aka thefrugalcrafter where she made a steampunk father’s day card. I was instantly inspired to make a card with some of the tips she shared! Now, I didn’t want to copy the design I made for my dad, so I did a different design on two cards. I knew I needed to

A. Write a blog post for the week and

B. Put a dad/father’s day card up in my shop

This was my solution, the good old-fashioned “Kill two birds with one stone” Keep reading to see my thought and creative process for the cards, along with a list of supplies!

fathersdayfront.jpg

Now, I learned a big lesson while making my dad’s card. I used Kraft cardstock on his but it was almost too thin to use as a card base. For these cards I used a grey colored card base that was sturdier and covered the front in the Kraft cardstock. I stamped three sizes of gears on the bottom inch or so of the card in dark brown ink. The polka dots paper I simply adhered to the front. Now, I honestly forgot to distress it or do anything to it really, so I used a makeup sponge and lightly dabbed and buffed in some brown into the paper to make it look weathered. The striped piece I used a blade from my scissors to tun along the edges of the paper, not caring if it cut into the paper since it would just be adding to the effect. I took the same brown ink and ran it over the edges to define the rough edges. I also crushed the paper into a ball and inked up the  corners before I finally placed it.

I had an empty space between the two patterned papers that I wanted to fill. I knew I wanted to use the jar stamp but i felt it was too much space. I used some of the excess striped paper and cut it to fill in the top area so it wouldn’t be so open. Now the fun part! I used small nails, bolts and screws to “fill” the jar. I stamped each of the four small stamps twice onto post-it tape to create eight total masks. I cut them out and built the scene, taking my time and stamping the jar and the items in black ink until I felt like the jar was full enough. 

fathersdayside

Now the sentiment… I used some scrap patterned paper and had some fun with it. I tore little rips into the sides and highlighted it all with black ink on the edges. I crumpled the paper, even stamping some black ink on my hand and pressing and crushing the paper into it. Now in hindsight I wouldn’t have done that step, I would have kept the middle clear and white for the sentiment. Instead, I once again took a scrap and cut it down to fit and stamped my sentiment in green ink, along with running the pad around the edges of the paper. Now the original stamp  said “For Your” but I wanted it to read “For you”  so I simply inked up the stamp and wiped the R away with my finger. I stamped the sentiment and used a green distress marker to write out “dad” I felt the card was still…Empty so I rounded out the bottom corners of the smaller panel, reinked the edges I had cut and adhered it to the first panel and put it all on my card. I also stamped a screwdriver in green on the striped paper and cut out a star shape and glued it next to the sentiment. For a touch of gloss I covered the star in some glossy accents and FINALLY. The card is absolutely complete and I just adore it.

If you’re interested in purchasing this card please check out my etsy shop listed below! until next time!

❤ Em

LINKS:

Etsy shop

 thefrugalcrafter video inspiration

SUPPLIES:

  • Core’dinations smooth cardstock 8.5×11 Grey
  • Core’dinations smooth cardstock 8.5×11 Kraft
  • DCWV 6×12 cutting machine cardstock purples, browns, and greens. (polka dot and striped paper)
  • DCWV 12×12 DIY project stacks- Envelopes (Word pattern paper, used for the star punch)
  • Memento dewdrop inks in rich cocoa, tuxedo black and cottage ivy.
  • Forever in time cling rubber stamp- Vintage tools
  • Fiskars clear stamp set in Vintage jars
  • Anna Griffin Lovely letterpress stamp set
  • Fiskars Teresa Collins small star level punch
  • Ranger distress marker in Mowed lawn
  • Ranger Glossy accents
  • Ad tech crafter’s tape permanent
Leave a Reply

