Posted in Cards, Share Joy Challenges, Watercoloring

SJC #47 Sketch and Tic-Tac-Toe

Hello everyone! This week I just HAD to do the new Share Joy challenge since I instantly had an idea and vision for it. It all started last week while I was out of town in Tennessee on a short vacation with my family. I packed some pre stamped images to color, including a beautiful flower stamp from a Downton Abbey stamp collection I found on clearance at Joann! I stamped it on watercolor paper and painted it one day with reds and pinks. When I checked the blog later that day, I knew I had to recreate what I just did. I hope you enjoy and links to the challenge and specific list of products used will be listed at the end!

sjc472

 

I first off started with a piece of watercolor paper that measured 4 X 5.5 inches, that way when it was adhered to my A2 card base, there will be a quarter of an inch left at the bottom of the card and I could add a dark blue cardstock strip to the bottom. Now, back to the watercoloring! I stamped the image in black waterproof ink to the bottom left on the smoother side of the watercolor paper. Now was the fun part, the coloring! When I first painted it on vacation, I only had my Zig clean color real brush markers to watercolor with, so that’s what I decided to use for this card. I’ve shown below how I went about coloring the three flowers

sjc471

As you see, I simply took the markers and initially just put the color on the dark lines of the flower. Once I did that, I blended it all out with water, making sure to go over every place I put down the marker. On the two lighter blue flowers I went over with more color once it was dried, just to amp up the color even more. For the leaves I mixed cobalt blue and yellow together and painted the entire leaf. Once it was dry I went in with light green over the lines of the leaves to define a bit more. For the smaller flowers I simply dabbed a touch of yellow, orange, and carmine red and blended it all with a small amount of water. Lastly, the brown on the stems was almost too easy but took a bit of trial and error. I mixed every color I used previously in the card, minus the light green.

sjc473

To finish the card I used cobalt blue mixed with water on an acrylic block to splatter ink onto the front. I did roughly cut out a mask of the flower onto post it notes just to make sure and preserve the coloring I did. I added the coloring to a white card base and glued the small strip of blue paper to the bottom of the card! Overall I am very happy with how this card came together and I hope you all have a wonderful week! See you next week!

<3, Em

Share Joy Challenge Blog

Supply List:

  • Core’dinations 8.5×11 Smooth cardstock in White
  • Open stock dark blue cardstock (So sorry, it’s old and I’m not sure of the brand or where I got it)
  • Downton Abbey Stamp collection from Crafter’s Comapnion Clear stamp set- Elements 1
  • Canson XL Watercolor paper
  • Ranger Archival Jet Black Ink
  • #2 Round brush
  • Adtech crafter’s permanent tape
  • Zig clean color real brush markers in Blue, cobalt blue, range, yellow, carmine red and light green.

 

 

Leave a Reply

