Posted in Cards

Birthday Card for my Dad

Hi everyone! This past weekend was my Dad’s birthday!! I of course had to make a card, but making cards for men is a weak spot of mine. After looking for some inspiration online, I finally got a design locked in that I really liked! All supplies I used and any links will be listed down below at the end! Now, let’s get into this.

dadblog10

To begin, I thought my idea would be way too small for the typical A2 size of card that I normally make, So I decided to make a 5×7 card instead. I’ll link to the video (at the end of the post) I used for help in making the card base since I had no idea how to get it to work! Next I lightly sketched on my idea onto the card base with my pencil

 

dadblog102

After I was happy, I added 2 half-inch wide strips of dark red cardstock to either end of the card. Now to cut out the presents! I still say the hardest part of this card was figuring out what pattern paper to use for the presents. I FINALLY narrowed it down! The chevron box was measured at 1.75×2.75 inches, The striped box at a hair over an inch by 1 inch. The sprinkle box as I call it, is 1.5×1.5 inches. I simply stacked the three together and added some red and white twine to either end before tying off the top into a bow. The sentiment was stamped in black ink, and that was it! A super simple card design that was perfect for my dad!

I hope you all enjoyed this post! I’ll see you all next week!

<3, Em

LINK TO THE VIDEO THAT HELPED ME

SUPPLIES:

  • Core’dinations 8.5×11 smooth cardstock in white and dark red
  • Kaisercraft 6 1/2″ paper pad (Chevron)
  • DCWV 6×12 cutting machine cardstock in Purples, Browns and greens (Stripes)
  • Studio 112 6×12 paper pad (Sprinkles)
  • Red and white bakers twine
  • Adtech Permanent crafters tape
  • Ranger Multi Medium Matte
  • Archival Jet Black ink

 

Leave a Reply

