Posted in Cards, Watercoloring

Colorful Striped Hi Greeting Card

Hi everyone! I hope you’re all having a wonderful beginning of the week! For this weeks post I struggled a bit to figure out what I wanted to write about. I had no challenges or nothing planned so I simply sat down and created a card! It turned out really cute and I wanted to tell you all how I made it! All supplies will be listed down below and I hope you enjoy!

  blog11.3

I started off by making my white A2 card base and searched my stash for a yellow and light green A2 pieces. I cut both colors into sections, focusing on keeping the top right and bottom left corners. To makes sure I was keeping some white space between the stripes, I cut off 0.25 inch off every piece that I cut apart.

Now, I didn’t get a picture of this, but I did have a bit of a boo boo after applying the stripes on the card front. The bottom right corner was completely off and had a gap, so to help it I first added a silver piece of ribbon going down the middle. I knew I was going to add a panel with the sentiment and little elephant, but I had intended on putting it in the middle of the card. This is a good lesson, your plans don’t always work how you wanted them to, but in the end I like the panel in the bottom right rather than if it was in the middle. I cut the panel to about 2 1/4 X 2 5/8 then set out to decorate it. I started by using an old stiff crayola brush I have as my mock clarity brush. TRUST ME  this really does work, and it’s using something I have already versus buying the clarity brushes (which I’m sure are worth the money, I just can’t justify buying them when I have something that works) I used the brush to fade some yellow ink onto the top and left hand side of the card and blending in. I used the light green ink to stamp some bubbles that are in the stamp set with the elephant and stamped those around in the same place. I stamped the elephant on some scrap watercolor paper in black ink and quickly watercolored it with my zig marker. I’m not sure why, but I was having some major problems with my black ink. Normally I have no problems watercoloring over it, but for some reason I did. I used my extra fine sharpie to sharpen up any of the lines on the elephant and cut it out! I went over the edges with my fine point black sharpie to make it look like I cut it out perfectly and adhered it to the bottom left of the card.

blog11.4

To finish up the card I added some silver circles with my gel pen to the panel and stamped the sentiment in black ink before adhering it all to the card base. The card is finally done, and I really do love how it turned out! I’ll be back next week with a brand new post, so have a wonderful rest of the week

<3, Em

Supplies:

  • Core’dinations 8.5×11 smooth cardstock in white, yellow, and light green
  • Ad tech Permanent Crafter’s tape
  • Ranger multi medium matte
  • The Paper Studio silver ribbon scrap pack
  • Canson XL watercolor paper
  • Avery Elle Clear Stamp Set- Ellie
  • Ranger Archival Jet Black Ink
  • Memento Dew Drop Inks in Pear Tree and Cantaloupe
  • Flat #4 Watercolor brush
  • Round #8 stiff Crayola brush
  • Sharpie Extra fine and Fine black markers
  • Zig clean color real brush marker in Cobalt Blue
  • Marvy Uchida gel reminisce pen in silver
Leave a Reply

