Posted in Cards, Watercoloring

Watercolor Pumpkin Pile

Long time no see everyone! Apologies for not writing a post last week. My mother had to have some emergency surgery at the SAME time I got my baby niece’s cold! Needless to say, it was crazy here for awhile but I’m back today with a brand new card featuring some watercoloring! I hope you all enjoy this post, as always my supplies will be listed at the bottom along with a link to my etsy shop where this card is on sale NOW! Now, let’s get into this card making process.

pumpkin1

I started off with the idea to have just a pile of pumpkins as the focus. I cut out my watercolor paper to be a bit larger than 4.25 by 5.5 inches and taped it down to help reduce any warping when I use water. I sketched out the ground and the pumpkins using a dark yellow watercolor pencil, adjusting the pumpkin shapes until I was happy with them. Next I went in and roughly filled in the pumpkins with a dark orange before using a light red to outline the pumpkin shapes and adding in some lines to define and show that it’s actually a pumpkin (lol)

pumpkin2

I used my small brush to liquify all of the colors and blend in everything and heat dried it with a blast from my heat gun. For the stems on some of the pumpkins I colored in the shape with an emerald green and blended that with water before letting it air dry for a bit. To add some shadows and depth I used the same red as before to darken the lines in the pumpkins and used a terra-cotta color to darken up some shadows. This still wasnt dark enough to my liking so I dried it and blended in some brown until I finally got the depth I wanted.

 I used a grey to make the shadows underneath the pumpkin and a yellow ochre color for the ground. I didn’t have a color that I liked for the sky in my watercolor pencil stash so I used a zig clean color real brush marker. I used the marker straight onto the paper in a curtain shape if you will. Along the two sides, the top, and in the top two corners and I blended it out with a larger brush. I adhered this to a plain white card base and cut out a small banner out of some scrap paper. I hand wrote the sentiment in two colors of distress markers and added that to the card to finish it up!

pumpkin3

 That finishes up the card I made! It was a joy to do this after being sick and not feeling well for days. I’m still not 100 percent but I’m well enough to create things, which is a big plus! I’ll be back with another post next week everyone, have a wonderful rest of the week!

<3, EM

Here’s a link to my etsy shop!

SUPPLIES:

  • Loew-Cornell Watercolor Pencils (Listed in order of use) Dark Chrome, Dark Orange, Light Geranium Red, Emerald Green, Terra Cotta, Vandyke Brown, Silver Grey, and Golden Ochre
  • Zig Clean Color Real Brush Marker in 031 Cobalt Blue
  • Ranger Distress Markers in Walnut Stain and Ripe Persimmon
  • Canson XXL Watercolor Paper
  • Core’dinations 8.55×11 Smooth Cardstock in White
  • Ad-tech Permanent Crafter’s Tape
  • #2 and #12 Round Watercolor Brushes

 

Leave a Reply

