Posted in Crafts, Inspiration, Product Love

Show some product love

Hi everyone! This is the first post in a monthly series called product love! I realized that some things in my stash have gone without use for awhile. I wanted to make an effort to really use those products, and figured a post a month on my blog highlighting that product would encourage me to show more products love, and maybe encourage others to do the same! All products that I used will be listed at the bottom of the post! So let’s start with this month’s product: my Martha Stewart punches! On a whim during a spring shopping trip I bought 4 of the small frame cartridges on sale at TJMAXX for about $5. It was the first kind of punch set I ever bought and I was excited to use them! It took a TON of research to figure out what punch would actually fit the cartridges and I bought the right one…or so I thought. Turns out, it was a starter kit for ANOTHER set of cartridges, not the ones I bought on sale. Booooooo, but I am an engineer’s daughter! I was determined to somehow make it work with the starter kid and after trial and error, finally figured out a method!

blog131
From top to bottom, left to right: Deco Fan, Blossom, Diamond Lattice, Leaf Bud, and Eyelet Doily

 

To start off, I picked out 3 colors of some random open stock cardstock and went to work punching! First I used the starter punch set on green cardstock and created a larger circle doily

blog133
Setting is ar 7 1/2. Paper size is 8.5×7

 Now, this is my method for working the 4 punches into working for me and not against me! I take out the sliding portion of the base so it’s empty and I position  the bottom section of the punch in the corner, like so.

 

The left image you can see the sliding insert, and I just slid it off and set it aside. The right image you can see how I position the frame punches. I start the first punch in the top corner as shown, and slowly slide it down to the end as to not crush the paper. However I’m still conscious of keeping that bottom portion straight and even. A quick tip for the paper! Instead of using a whole piece, which makes your paper dented, having the paper be the width of about 2″ makes sure that the paper at the bottom doesn’t get crushed while you push down the punch. Below you can see the left image has the paper lined up to the edge of the punch. Now, these two pieces are magnetic so you really have to hold the bottom piece and the paper as you set the top punch down into place. It can shift, so you have to really watch it and be careful

blog137
Another tip! To continue the punches in a straight line, the pattern to the left can easily be lined up with the last punch you made. This truly does make all the difference in the world!

Now it was time to make some cards with the paper I punched out! I made the five cards in about 30 minutes or so with a small amount of supplies. I used identical card bases and all the sentiments were from the same set.

First, I worked with the large doily i cut from a bright green cardstock. I adhered the doily to cover the majority of the card base and cut off the excess paper. I stamped the “Thank You” sentiment in versamark ink and covered it with white heat embossing powder and then heat set it. Next I worked on the purple pieces I punched using Deco Fan and Leaf Bud. I adhered the deco fan punch strip to the top of the white card base. I added another strip of the purple paper to the bottom of the page before stamping the “Happy Birthday” in purple ink. After the ink dried for a few seconds I stamped on top of it with versamark ink and added clear heat embossing and setting it. To finish that card off I punched out a curly q out of the same paper and glued it to the front of the card. I enjoyed the monochrome look of the first purple card so I decided to continue that with the second card using the leaf bud punch. I punched the opposite side of the paper so both the top and bottom were punched out. I stamped the “With Love” sentiment and three small hearts with the same purple ink. I added that to the middle of the white card base. To finish off the card I mixed a distress marker with water and splattered it onto the card with my water brush.

blog139

Lastly, I worked on the two yellow cards that were punched with diamond lattice and blossom. Now, the piece that was punched with the diamond lattice had to be cut down since I made a mistake, so it was significantly shorter than any of the other pieces. I rounded out the two edges and realized that it looked like the top of an umbrella! I used a scrap piece of a dark orange cardstock that was cut thin and used that as the base of the umbrella. I used the small curly q punch and cut the middle section out so it would resemble a handle and glued that all together and onto the card. To finish, I just stamped the sentiment “Thinking of you” in brown ink. The last card was punched with the blossom frame and I noticed it had some small stars in with the design, so I decided to play off that. I stamped the sentiment “Congratulations” with versamark ink and heat embossed it with white embossing powder before adhering it near the top of the card. I used a small star punch to punch out a few stars in the yellow cardstock and glued them to the bottom half of the card.

blog1310

Now that’s it! I showed some love to a neglected object in my craft corner and made use of it and added five cards to my stash! I hope you all enjoyed this post and the tips I gave and I encourage you to show a product in your stash some love! All supplies are listed below, and I will see you all next week!

<3, Em

Supplies:

  • Martha Stewart circle edge punch starter kit with eyelet doily punch
  • Martha Stewart frame border punch cartridges in leaf bud, blossom, diamond lattice and deco fan
  • Open stock cardstock 8.5×7′ in bright green, yellow, purple and dark orange
  • Core’dinations 8.5×11′ smooth cardstock in White
  • Versamark ink
  • Zing embossing poweder in opaque white and clear
  • Memento dew drop ink pads in grape jelly and rich cocoa
  • Distress marker in Seedless preserves
  • Stampabilities clear stamp set-card phrases
  • Fiskars and Teresa Collins small star punch
  • Curly Q small punch (No brand name, so sorry!)
  • Ad-tech permanent crafter’s tape
  • Ranger multi medium matte
Leave a Reply

